Understanding Cloud Computing Standards

Presented by

Dr. David Ross, Chair, CSA Australia Chapter & Managing Consultant, Telstra Purple

About this talk

Many cloud service users are aware of some of the international Cloud Computing standards, such as: ISO/IEC 17788:2014 Information technology — Cloud computing — Overview and vocabulary, which is referenced in the CSA’s own Security Guidance for Critical Areas of Focus in Cloud Computing v4.0 and the companion ISO/IEC 17789:2014 Information technology — Cloud computing — Reference architecture, or even ISO/IEC 27017:2015 Information technology — Security techniques — Code of practice for information security controls based on ISO/IEC 27002 for cloud services. However few cloud service users are truly aware of the full range international standards available to harmonise the utilisation of cloud computing services around the globe. This presentation informs the audience on the topics, content and use of the many available Cloud Computing standards, including how to obtain a number of these standards from the ISO’s free standards list, and provides a preview of the emerging work being developed for Cloud Computing users by the ISO/IEC Joint Technical Committee’s Sub-Committee on Cloud Computing and Distributed Systems, including a brand new definitive reference for cloud computing, providing an updated and consolidated cloud computing vocabulary, with terminology, definitions & concepts, Auditing Cloud Services, and Multi-cloud and other interoperation of multiple cloud services.
Related topics:

More from this channel

Upcoming talks (6)
On-demand talks (898)
Subscribers (64322)
CSA CloudBytes was launched as a webinar series to help us educate the industry on all matters related to the cloud. Our channel is designed to inform our audience about trending topics, new technologies, and latest research. Learn more at cloudsecurityalliance.org. Join the Cloud Security Alliance on LinkedIn and follow us on twitter: @cloudsa