Credit and distressed assets opportunities in China

Presented by

Prin Shasiharan, Commercial Editor of ITR

About this talk

ITR and KPMG will host a live webinar on Tuesday, September 29 to discuss the most prominent credit and distressed assets opportunities in China. The impact of COVID-19 on corporate groups’ earnings is in many cases making access to typical lines of credit more difficult. However, from an another viewpoint, this is presenting funds with opportunities to provide alternative financing. Although investments in single credit opportunities, or portfolios of non-performing loans, may not give rise to immediate tax charges, tax may feature prominently if an investment ultimately turns around. If tax is not addressed at the time of making the investment, unintended tax leakages, on restructuring debt or on eventual exit, can significantly impact the investment’s overall internal rate of return (IRR). At the same time, consideration needs to be given to how distressed investments are permitted to be made and returns repatriated to investors, since structures used in more sophisticated markets cannot simply be replicated in highly regulated markets in Asia such as China. In this webinar, Henry Wong and Nigel Hobler of KPMG will discuss the regulatory and tax aspects of the following: •General regulatory and tax regimes in China; •Different types of debt investment opportunities in China; •Offshore and onshore structures and associated tax and regulatory issues involved in acquiring, restructuring and realising investments; and •Repatriating investment gains to investors. The 60-minute webinar at 9am GMT (10am London time / 5pm Beijing time) will be moderated by ITR’s Commercial Editor Prin Shasiharan. The webinar will be followed by a Q&A session.

Related topics:

More from this channel

Upcoming talks (4)
On-demand talks (88)
Subscribers (16037)
Up-to-date analysis and comment on international corporate tax and transfer pricing matters